The 6th Neutron and Muon School The 6th Neutron and Muon School

Announcement regarding the 6th Neutron and Muon School

The School provides lectures and practical training for newcomers to neutron and muon beam research from across the fields of physics, chemistry, biology, materials science and more. The lectures cover most of the basic neutron and muon methodologies applied to material research. In the practical hands-on training, participants will experience actual experiments and data analyses on neutron/muon instruments at J-PARC MLF or JRR-3 with experienced staff.

The School will be held in a hybrid style, with lectures online/on-site and hands-on training on-site, to both minimize the risk of further spread of COVID-19 and maximize the participant’s experience.

The 6th Neutron and Muon School is aimed at graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and early-career researchers who are interested in but have limited or no experience with neutron and muon beam-based techniques.




School office: nm-school[at] (Please exchange "[at]" for "@")

The School is sponsored by

The Japanese Society for Neutron Science (JSNS)
Society of Muon and Meson Science of Japan (JMMS)
J-PARC Center (J-PARC)
Materials and Life Science Experimental Facility, J-PARC Center (J-PARC MLF)
Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA)
Materials Sciences Research Center, JAEA (MSR)
High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK)
Institute of Materials Structure Science, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (IMSS)
Comprehensive Research Organization for Science and Society (CROSS)
The Institute for Solid State Physics, The University of Tokyo (ISSP)
Industrial Users Society for Neutron Application (IUSNA)
Ibaraki Prefecture
Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Ibaraki University
International Society for µSR Spectroscoy (ISMS)
• J-PARC MLF Users Society
• Inter-institution network for accelerators science(IINAS)


School Principal:
 Kazuhisa Kakurai (CROSS/President of JSNS)

Organizing Committee:
 Kenya M. Kubo (ICU/President of JMMS)
 Shuichi Wakimoto (J-PARC Center, JAEA)
 Mitsuhiro Shibayama (CROSS)
 Kenji Nakajima (MSRC, JAEA)
 Hideya Anzai (Ibaraki Pref.)
 Kenji Ohyama (Ibaraki Univ.)
 Toshiya Otomo (J-PARC Center, KEK)
 Hideki Seto (J-PARC Center, KEK)
 Osamu Yamamuro (ISSP)
 Matahiro Komuro (CROSS/IUSNA)

Local Organizing Committee

 Ryoji Kiyanagi (J-PARC Center, JAEA)

Committee Member:
 Kazuki Ohishi (CROSS/JMMS)
 Ryuji Maruyama (J-PARC Center, JAEA / JSNS)
 Yukinobu Kawakita (J-PARC Center, JAEA)
 Takayuki Kumada (MSRC, JAEA)
 Yukinori Nagatani (J-PARC Center, KEK)
 Hideki Seto (J-PARC Center, KEK)
 Kazuhiro Mori (J-PARC Center, KEK)
 Hirotoshi Hayashida (CROSS)
 Matahiro Komuro (CROSS/IUSNA)
 Kazuaki Iwasa (Ibaraki Univ.)
 Kenji Ohyama (Ibaraki Univ.)
 Taro Nakajima (ISSP)
 Yugo Ohkubo (Ibaraki Pref.)
 Masanori Tsukada (J-PARC Center, KEK)
 Takanori Hattori (J-PARC Center, JAEA)
 Misono Fujii (J-PARC Center, JAEA)
 Kazuki Mita (CROSS)

sponsor logo